In the 2008 and 2012 race was a key issue because we had an African American man running for President. Despite facing opposition because of his race , he won both times and was an excellent President. In 2016 race has become a key issue again because of the Republican Presidential nominee Donald Trump. He wants to send undocumented immigrants back to their homeland and build a wall ( Notice that he never mentions people whose VISA’S have expired and are still here – because they are from White European countries? ). He has also insulted African Americans and Jews. Along with race he has been homophobic, misogynistic and even mocked a reporter with MS.

This type of hate and bigotry is reminiscent of a similar type of individual named Adolf Hitler, who in the 1930’s campaigned for an Aryan nationalistic Germany. The outcome was the destruction of millions of lives and many countries. Trump’s cry of “Take our country back” – to what? When white  straight men controlled everything?  That isn’t what made America great. What made America great is the diversity in cultures, race and religion all coming together for a united purpose. Besides if anyone should want to “Take the country back” it should be Native Americans. Although after what has been done to it maybe they wouldn’t want it back.

My sister and I grew up in Aurora , Colorado. Today Aurora is the second most diverse city in the United States. When we were growing up in the 60’s it was literally Lilly white. Because of our brown skin my sister and I were mistaken to be Mexican. I learned at an early age that the word Spic was not used as a term of endearment. The only other kids of color where kids whose parents were stationed on Fitzsimons Army Hospital Base. Growing up my two best friends were a Jewish kid and a Filipino kid. We remained friends way past high school, even after I came out. ( Ironically they both ended up having gay brothers. We are everywhere ). Throughout my life I have made friends with people from many cultures , races and religions. We have teased each other from time to time but mostly we embraced each other and each other’s families. I still get teased because I am limited to the kind of food I like. Yes, I have been willing to try everything but at the end of the day the question remains when we go out ” Is this a restaurant where Joe will find something he likes?”

I feel that because of the diversity of my friends and becoming a part of so many of their families that I have grown as an individual and wouldn’t change a thing. For the Trump supporters that feel that I am not white enough for them – they can kiss my Lilly white ***. We have a unique opportunity in this year’s election. We can defeat Trump and tell the world that his vision of America is not now or ever has been what we want. Hillary Clinton is more than qualified to lead this already great country and I am hoping that with an effort we can elect her President in a landslide election. Yes every vote matters.

