So, last Thursday I went to my follow up prostate biopsy. And yes it was even more fun than the first one. The Dr. arrived in a three piece suit. I felt extremely under dressed for the occasion, especially during the procedure. He is one of the top urologists in the country , so he is always giving lectures, meeting and greeting people, along with the several classes that he teaches at the University. During the procedure he kept asking me how I was doing. I wasn’t sure how to answer that question, especially under the circumstances ( ” I feel like I have bottomed out” ? ).

Then you have the hospital “gowns”. The hospital states that the purpose of these garments is to allow the doctor to examine you while providing the patient with the ability to maintain their dignity. Apparently the hospital and I have very different definitions of the word dignity. No matter how you tie those little straps in the back, the minute you get up to walk around, you have everything flapping in the wind.

Now I have to confess that this last time I didn’t mind that much because I have a dynamite tan line that I enjoy showing. I was a little disappointed that the doctor didn’t mention this. How many people can say that they have had a prostate biopsy performed by someone in a three piece suit? Did that make it a formal affair? As the saying goes ” bottoms up”.

