The other day when we were grocery store shopping, we happened to be in the fruit section when my dad brushed against a display of cherries. Several of the cherries fell to the floor. My dad quickly scooped them up and put them back into the bag that they fell from. I said ” You shouldn’t put them back . They fell on the floor they should be tossed”. He replied ” Relax , we aren’t buying them. There is no need to worry”. I answered back ” But someone will be buying them. What if that was us? Wouldn’t you be upset if you found out?”. My dad answered back ” Well, we aren’t buying them. That is one of the reasons that I don’t buy fruit at this store – I don’t like the way they handle it. You are never sure where it has been”. ( indeed ).

The house behind us sold and yesterday the new people were moving in. My dad had been upset because he and the past neighbor – Ruth – had become good friends over the years. They would spend hours talking back and fourth over the fence. Ruth’s hearing was at the same level as my dads. For years they both used their “inside” voices to discuss the latest events. This meant that for years there wasn’t a need for anyone to have to watch the evening news, since they had already heard all about it.

My dad went to greet the new neighbors. After a few minutes he came back inside the house with a huge smile on his face. ” They are a really nice couple but the best part of all is that the man’s name is George”. Is the neighborhood really ready for another George? If one is “Big Bad George”, what will we call this new one?

