Yup, you heard it correctly dog pee. Our oldest dog Darcy hasn’t been himself lately. He has been lethargic at times, not eating sometimes, red eyes with leakage and then last week he walked in the middle of the family room and just peed. From the look on his face it seemed that he didn’t know where he was. After a lot of yelling, he was very aware of where he was and what he had done.

Today we took him to the vet to see what might be wrong. As I was telling the vet what had happened and why we were concerned, my dad interjected ” I think he did it out of spite. I yelled at him the other day and he was getting back at me”. The vet told my dad ” Dogs don’t usually act out of spite that way”. My dad replied ” This one does”. The vet decided to get blood work and some urine. She took Darcy into the lab and when she returned she said that they would run the blood to see if he had something neurological going on. She also said that they were unable to draw any urine from him. She suggested that we take Darcy home and try to get a urine sample from him at home. She also said that if we couldn’t bring it in that day that we could store it in the refrigerator and bring it in tomorrow.

We left quickly before my dad could reply to what she had said. However, on the way home he voiced his opinion. “If she thinks that I am going to follow that dog around with a container until he pees, she is crazy. And I’ll be damned if I’ll have dog pee stored in my refrigerator!”. I told him I would figure out a way to get the pee from Darcy and that I agreed – we would not be storing dog pee in the refrigerator.. Darcy still hasn’t peed yet. Maybe I will wait and surprise him tonight when he is asleep – what could go wrong? This should be a very interesting night.

