My dad doesn’t cook anymore. At this point about all he does in the kitchen is make coffee and put his waffles in the toaster for breakfast. The rest of the pots, pans and utensils have remained in their original places where my mom had placed them years ago. Woe be to anyone who puts a pot on the wrong shelf. Since Katie moved back home, this has become a problem – she likes to cook. And she is a short cook – so she moved a lot of pots and pans to lower shelves where she could reach them. Then my dad went to use the toaster, which is on the lower shelves. “What are these bread pans doing down here?”. Katie ” papou, I can’t reach them up above. I moved them there so I could use them when I bake”.  My dad ” OK, but please don’t move my measuring cup. If I can’t find it I don’t know what I will do. This kitchen is getting very hard to navigate”.

Katie also decided to can some jams and give them as Christmas gifts. My dad was not enthusiastic about the idea. “What the hell do you want to do that for? It’s too much work. Just go to the store and buy them some jam. ( Merry Christmas from Smuckers right?).” It’s not like we still live in the hills and have to can our own jams – we live in the city now”. Katie decided to do the canning anyway and give a more personal gift. I suggested that she ask papou to help her – what could go wrong?

