My dad has had a backache for awhile – nothing severe, just an on again off again nagging pain. To help him out my niece Katie has been massaging his back for a few minutes each night with an electrical back massager that he refers to as the vibrator – which embarrasses Katie “What if he says something about his vibrator in public?”

Well , Sunday we were sitting in Church. My dad wears a headset that helps him hear in Church. Because of the headset he feels the need to talk over what he is hearing and doesn’t always use his “inside voice”. So, as the service progressed, my dad started rubbing his back. You could tell he was in some pain and even sitting down and resting against the back of the pew didn’t help.  Finally , he turned to Katie and said ” My back is killing me. When we get home I will have you use the vibrator”. Katie turned bright red as the people in the pews around us heard everything. Unfortunately for Katie she did not respond and my dad felt the need to repeat himself as he was under the impression that she had not heard him. ” You will have to use the vibrator when we get home.” Katie then responded ” Papou , you need to speak more softly, everyone can hear what you are saying”.  His reply ” Ah hell dolly, what does anyone care what an old man has to say. I just need to get my back massaged so I am not in so much pain”.  Who could argue with that?

