Since it’s Thursday, it must be grocery shopping day. Today we also needed a vacuum belt. So there we were in Walmart looking at the vacuum belts deciding which one to get. I suggested to my dad that we actually read the plastic bag and see if the contents were the serial number and size belt that we required. My dad replied ” You can’t believe what they put on those bags. You have to look at the product to know that you are getting the right thing”.  He then started to tear open the bag. At this point, I told him that he shouldn’t do any such thing and that the store would not appreciate such an action. After arguing back and forth for several minutes, I told my dad to do what he wanted and I left and told him I would be waiting at the front of the store.

About 15 minutes later my dad came through the checkout and we started to leave. He told me that a very nice young clerk had helped him ( as opposed to the crank that he had been with earlier ? ). He also told me that the clerk had thanked him for asking for help instead of just ripping open the bag. My dad said that the clerk told him that it had become quite a problem for the store and that it was nice to meet someone who still respected store merchandise. Then he said ” I just don’t know why people can’t be more patient and ask for help”.

