When I moved in with my dad , I decided to bring the house up to date – nothing had been changed since my mom died. I soon learned that nothing was going to change in the kitchen until we all died. Plus, my idea of cooking dinner is to throw something into the microwave – not exactly gourmet. Over the years , as my nieces have lived with us they have tried to help papou ( Greek for grandfather ) in the kitchen. Both nieces are good cooks, my niece Katie loves watching all the chefs on TV and trying out new recipes.

The first rule you learn when cooking with papou is that he will never leave you alone in the kitchen. He will be there right by your side “observing ” your every move. He will also offer words of encouragement like – ” I wouldn’t fix it that way, but if it works for you ok ” or ” I wouldn’t use those spices, but if you feel it will taste all right ok ” . Plus you must also remember that every ingredient and pot or pan must be returned to its original place when you clean up and are done.

It is very easy to tell if my dad likes a meal – he won’t tell you directly ( doesn’t want to hurt your feelings ). But he will try a little piece at first. If he likes it he will take more, otherwise he will say he is just not that hungry and fix something else later ( When a craving for a certain food  hits. ) Putting the dishes in the dishwasher properly is an Olympic feat. Silverware is loaded front to back, small dishes on the top large dishes on the bottom. Of course everything is cleaned so completely before being put in the dishwasher, it really isn’t necessary to clean them again, but we do. ( I am starting to think that a better option might just be using paper plates and plastic silverware )

